archive-edu.com » EDU » C » CIU.EDU

Total: 968

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Find out What the Excitement is all About: CIU Preview Days | Columbia International University
    programs during the Majors Market October 03 2011 I heard that CIU professors interact with the students and are involved in their lives Now I ve seen it for myself and am captivated by it That was the reaction from a high school junior at Columbia International University s Preview Days on the CIU campus Sept 29 and 30 During Preview Days prospective students have the opportunity to spend a

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/find-out-what-excitement-all-about-ciu-preview-days (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Columbia Businessman Joins Staff at CIU | Columbia International University
    the president of JB Wheeler Company specializing in business growth and strategic planning for businesses and faith based organizations He recently retired as president and chief operating officer of Coldwell Banker United Realtors in the Carolinas Wheeler has also served as the chief operating officer of the Coldwell Banker Real Estate Corporation headquartered in New Jersey overseeing 2 000 franchised locations around the world Wheeler began his career in real estate in 1976 with Tom Jenkins Realty in Columbia and by 1988 became a partner and the president of the company He has also served as president of the Greater Columbia Association of Realtors and Consolidated Multiple Listing Service and treasurer of the South Carolina Association of Realtors Wheeler s ministry background includes serving for five years as the minister of education and administration at Shandon Baptist Church one of the largest Baptist churches in South Carolina While at Shandon he introduced several new ministries and was involved in a major capital campaign Wheeler has also served on numerous civic and community boards CIU President Dr Bill Jones says Wheeler s CIU duties include assisting Jones in creating Bible study groups in the Columbia area recruiting students for CIU s

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/columbia-businessman-joins-staff-ciu (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • CIU Alumnus Returns to Law Enforcement Roots | Columbia International University
    first responders Robert Michaels who also used to be an announcer for CIU radio station WMHK was a police officer in Norfolk Va before enrolling at CIU Michaels is well known in the Christian music industry He is a former vice president of marketing for Benson Records and later launched Lord Michaels Entertainment working with several Christian recording artiists including DC Talk Rebecca St James and Audio Adrenaline But Michaels

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/ciu-alumnus-returns-law-enforcement-roots (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • At the Core of CIU: Christian Life Conference | Columbia International University
    was a Prayer Day Click image to view a larger version Christian Life Conference worship in song September 19 2011 By Abbey Le Roy CIU Student Writer One of Columbia International University s five core values is the Victorious Christian Life the dynamic of the Holy Spirit to make us like Christ in daily living Each year special attention is paid to the Victorious Christian Living in a week long chapel series called the Christian Life Conference Dr Steve Bateman senior pastor of First Bible Church in Decatur Ala was this year s speaker Bateman a 1983 CIU graduate delivered five keynote messages My prayer he said opening the conference is that at the end of this week we are all more like Jesus than we are right now After defining the Christian life in the first session Bateman used the remaining four messages to illustrate the competency character suffering and endurance of Jesus qualities believers are to cultivate if they are to effectively emulate Christ Developing these characteristics by the grace of God will explained Bateman give believers enormous credibility in a world that is increasingly hostile to the gospel Bateman s series was well received by the student

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/core-ciu-christian-life-conference (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Hispanics Mobilize for the Gospel | Columbia International University
    to view a larger version September 19 2011 By Abbey Le Roy CIU Student Writer The Hispanic world is no longer just receiving missionaries it is sending missionaries and giving to missions That was the message at Impacto Global a conference designed to mobilize the Hispanic community to reach the world with the gospel The Sept 17 event was held on the campus of Columbia International University and sponsored by CIU and Crossover Communications International The dean of CIU s College of Intercultural Studies Dr Mike Barnett said the purpose of the conference was to learn how we can work together more effectively to take the message of Christ to the nations CIU president Dr Bill Jones welcomed the Hispanic visitors to campus At CIU Jones explained we don t believe the gospel is from the west to the rest we believe it s from the reached to the unreached Keynote messages were delivered by Mauricio Alvarez executive director of COMHINA an Hispanic network of churches missionaries and missions agencies and Jason Carlisle the Hispanic director of the International Mission Board God didn t bring us to the United States to live out the American dream explained Alvarez He brought

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/hispanics-mobilize-gospel (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Divorce OK if Spouse has Alzheimer’s? | Columbia International University
    s disease Pat Robertson s views got the attention of other media including Christianity Today magazine Read the article and the backlash of comments from the magazine s readers One of the most well known alternative views is from Columbia International University President Emeritus Robertson McQuilkin Two decades ago he decided to step down and end his 22 year tenure as president of CIU then called Columbia Bible College to

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/divorce-ok-if-spouse-has-alzheimer%E2%80%99s (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • “Worthy” Conference Draws Over 800 Young Ladies to CIU | Columbia International University
    Worthy conference September 12 2011 By Abbey Le Roy CIU Student Writer A diverse group of mostly 800 teenage girls gathered on the campus of Columbia International University for Worthy a one day conference focused on how to become the woman God intended The name for the Sept 10 event came from the Bible s book of Ruth In Ruth 3 11 Ruth is commended by Boaz for her character with the words all my fellow townsmen know that you are a worthy woman With humor and conviction Debby Jones wife of CIU president Dr Bill Jones explained that God is the One who created us with the desire to be loved Using her book Lady in Waiting as a guide Jones challenged attendees to develop a healthy self image by cultivating a deep relationship with the Lord In three sessions defining a worthy relationship a worthy love and a worthy life Jones illustrated the truth that God is love and no one else is capable of loving like He does When we put Him first said Jones everything else every other relationship is handled by Him Dawndy Mercer Plank a popular TV news anchor in Columbia emceed the event

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/%E2%80%9Cworthy%E2%80%9D-conference-draws-over-800-young-ladies-ciu (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The 9/11 Anniversary: A Call to Prayer | Columbia International University
    a CIU Chapel service Though a few references may be outdated you may find it a helpful guide to your prayers on the 10th anniversary You saw it all Lord on that other bright September morning when a few men in four planes changed our worlds The rubble has been cleared away but the pictures are forever seared in our memories Memories of the nearly three thousand men and women and children who were dashed into eternity that day Today we honor their memory We grieve with their families standing with them in the stillness of their loss We would also stand with Jeremiah Lord on that 9 11 day twenty five hundred years ago as he watched his beloved city and its temple crumble into dust My eyes fail because of tears My spirit is greatly troubled my heart is poured out on the earth because of the destruction of the daughter of my people With Jeremiah we would also call out to our world Is it nothing to all you who pass this way Look and see if there is any pain like my pain We know that You care Lord and that you understand our pain as we remember that day But You have also told us that in everything we should give thanks and this we joyfully do We thank You Lord for the many who survived and for the brave men and women who risked and sometimes lost their lives in their rescue We pray that this experience at the door of death will bring many to yourself for Todd Beamer and his reverberating witness to his resurrected Lord Like Abel though being dead he yet speaks for Lisa Beamer and the opportunities you have given her to show thousands the way to eternal safety Continue to encourage her Lord and bring many to yourself as they reflect on her witness that has cost her so much for the CIU team that you pre prepared and sent on their unique mission to the streets of New York May the seed they sowed bear much fruit for your church in America and around the world Purify us Lord and energize us to make the most of the time for the days are evil for those who have gone among the millions who are blinded by Satan s lies to shine the light of truth Encourage them and give them much fruit in their ministries Bring many out of their darkness for those who are asking Where was God May they come to know that God was there in New York and that He was also on a cross in Jerusalem on that other dark day dying for them for showing us that there are limits to our control in this world Continue to humble us Lord that we may know that it is not by might or by power but by My Spirt says the Lord for reminding us of the preciousness of life and the

    Original URL path: http://www.ciu.edu/newsstory/911-anniversary-call-prayer (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •