archive-edu.com » EDU » W » WHITTIER.EDU

Total: 1567

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Preview of Courses | Whittier College
    Prev Next In This Section Graduate Program in Education Mobile About Our Programs Requirements Credentialing Programs Masters in Education Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment You are here Home Academics Preview of Courses Preview of Courses On 25 Apr 2013 By Anonymous not verified 0 Comments The following is a preview of courses offered by Whittier College s Graduate Programs in Education For a comprehensive list of courses please refer to the current Schedule of Classes or Course Catalog EDUC 262 Children s Literature SOWK 386 The Welfare of Children Paired Course Survey of literary genres and elements including picture books folklore poetry historical fiction contemporary realism and nonfiction Some attention to pedagogical issues for teacher credential candidates One semester or January Professor Ralph Students enrolled in this course will explore the diverse needs and issues related to child welfare systems of care The course provides an overview of relevant knowledge theories values skills and social policies related to competently working with children and their families One semester Professor Sheridan EDUC 250 Urban Education In this course students will learn about both historical and contemporary issues in public school education which have led to the achievement gap between underrepresented groups Students will compare the schooling experiences and underachievement of Latinos African Americans and English Language Learners ELLs in K 12 settings Local school visits and educational documentaries will be utilized as experiential and pedagogical tools EDUC 605 606 Introduction Education Inquiry Overview of quantitative qualitative and applied research approaches to educational inquiry with a focus on critiquing research writing a literature review and designing a research plan Graduate Program in Education About Our Programs Requirements Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment Education Facebook Department News Monday January 11

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/graduate_education/preview (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Broadoaks School | Whittier College
    Mobile About Our Programs Requirements Credentialing Programs Masters in Education Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment You are here Home Academics Broadoaks School Broadoaks School On 25 Apr 2013 By Anonymous not verified 0 Comments Located on the Whittier College campus The Broadoaks Children s School is a private non profit demonstration school that includes before and after school care and a variety of co curricular activities including sports technology chess cooking gardening advanced learners and student leadership It is one of the oldest and most widely respected demonstration schools in the country Its purpose is to provide programs for children and their families as a model for students in education social work psychology medicine and other related fields The students enrolled at The Broadoaks Children s School reflect the socioeconomic ethnic and cultural diversity of the Whittier community The school also serves children with a variety of special needs including learning disabilities behavior disorders high risk family situations and other challenges to learning and development In addition the school operates a Summer Academy program for students aged pre school through eighth grade Importantly Broadoaks serves as a learning laboratory for Whittier College faculty and students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels Students from courses in a number of disciplines complete various class assignments based on their work directly with Broadoaks students everything from classroom observation to participation in instructional planning and evaluation to teaching lessons under the supervision of Broadoaks mentor teachers Additionally work opportunities in conjunction with academic study are also available for eligible Whittier College students including undergraduate teaching fellowships and work in child advocacy Learn more about The Broadoaks Children s School Graduate Program in Education About Our Programs Requirements Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/graduate_education/broadoaks (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Faculty | Whittier College
    Education Mobile About Our Programs Requirements Credentialing Programs Masters in Education Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment You are here Home Academics Faculty Faculty On 25 Apr 2013 By Anonymous not verified 0 Comments Shannon Stanton Department Chair Associate Professor of Education Child Development Philadelphia House 2nd Floor Room 201 562 907 4200 ext 4429 sstanton whittier edu Visit faculty page Ivannia Soto Associate Professor of Education Child Development Philadelphia House Room 103 562 907 4200 ext 4412 isotohinman whittier edu Visit faculty page Kathleen S Ralph Associate Professor of Education Child Development Philadelphia House 2nd Floor Room 204 562 907 4200 ext 4322 kralph whittier edu Visit faculty page Lauren Swanson Assistant Professor of Education Child Development Philadelphia House Room 105 562 907 5029 lswanson whittier edu Visit faculty page Jean McHatton Director Student Teaching Services of Education Child Development Philadelphia House 562 907 4200 ext 4333 jMcHatton whittier edu Visit faculty page Cean Colcord Assistant Professor of Education Child Development Philadelphia House Room 108 562 907 4200 ext 4427 ccolcord whittier edu Judith Wagner Director of The Broadoaks Children s School Professor of Education Child Development Broadoaks Carousel K 562 907 4973 jwagner whittier edu Visit faculty page Lorelei Coddington Visiting Professor of Education Child Development Philadelphia House 2nd floor Room 205 562 907 5096 lcodding whittier edu Administrative Staff Catherine George Credential Analyst of Education Child Development Philadelphia House Room 101 562 907 4200 ext 4443 cgeorge whittier edu Sandy Granados Student Teaching Clerk Graduate Admission Counselor Philadelphia House Reception 562 464 4549 sgranado whittier edu Linda Brennan Administrative Assistant of Education Child Development Philadelphia House Reception 562 907 4248 lbrennan whittier edu Graduate Program in Education About Our Programs Requirements Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/graduate_education/faculty (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Research & Fieldwork | Whittier College
    Events Athletics Giving Alumni Education Homepage Slider graduate ACADEMICS IN ACTION Closing the Achievement Gaps between English Language Learners and Their Peers Prev Next In This Section Graduate Program in Education Mobile About Our Programs Requirements Credentialing Programs Masters in Education Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment You are here Home Academics Research Fieldwork Research Fieldwork On 25 Apr 2013 By Anonymous not verified 0 Comments At Whittier College our student body works in close active collaboration with professors who are leaders in their fields Together this team of learners conducts research projects that push the boundaries of knowledge and inquiry For example select students support faculty members with their professional academic investigations At other times it is the faculty which assists the efforts of students in pursuing groundbreaking new research As a result of these experiences and with confidence in their own abilities Whittier students regularly go on to participate in conferences such as the Southern California Conference on Undergraduate Research and other academic conclaves across the nation Students further interact with faculty members in programs that are part of the College s Centers of Distinction and take place at Garrett and Hartley Faculty Masters Houses on campus residences where professors live for a multi year term and coordinate and host an array of educational and social activities While students at large universities struggle merely to gain face time with professors here at Whittier students interact with the faculty personally and on a daily basis Graduate Program in Education About Our Programs Requirements Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment Education Facebook Department News Monday January 11 2016 Faculty Members Lead Travel Courses During JanTerm The study abroad experience has long been a hallmark of the liberal arts

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/graduate_education/research (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Applying | Whittier College
    the intended entry date To apply for master s degree candidacy applicants must submit the following The application for graduate admission which includes an essay on professional and educational goals and two professional references Students who have previously been admitted to a credential program must complete the application for advancement to master s candidacy Transcripts of all college work documenting a Bachelor of Arts degree or a Bachelor of Science degree from an accredited college or university Evidence of completion of the last 25 upper division graduate semester units with a grade point average of 3 5 or higher 4 An Educational Design proposal that has been developed by the candidate and the Department of Education and Child Development Graduate students must complete an application for admission to the Teacher Preparation Program according to specified deadlines Only those students accepted to the program may enroll in the core courses Graduate candidates applying to the credential programs must complete and submit the following to the Department of Education and Child Development A completed application for admission to the Whittier College Teacher Credential Program which includes the following 60 00 application fee made out to Whittier College Official transcripts documenting a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree from an accredited college or university Minimum grade point average GPA of a 2 8 Proof of passage of the California Basic Educational Skills test CBEST Proof of passage of one subtest in your content area of the California Subject Examination for Teachers CSET Completion of a Certificate of Clearance which includes the live scan fingerprinting process and Department of Justice DOJ background check Two to four letters of recommendation One letter of recommendation needs to be from an academic major A statement of purpose which includes your goals and commitments to teaching

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/graduate_education/applying (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Teacher Performance Assessment | Whittier College
    Prev Next In This Section Graduate Program in Education Mobile About Our Programs Requirements Credentialing Programs Masters in Education Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment You are here Home Academics Teacher Performance Assessment Teacher Performance Assessment On 25 Apr 2013 By Anonymous not verified 0 Comments What is the Teaching Performance Assessment Senate Bill 2042 Chapter 548 Statutes of 1998 signed by the governor in 1998 requires all multiple and single subject preliminary credential candidates attending fifth year intern or blended teacher preparation programs in California to pass a Teaching Performance Assessment TPA This assessment is designed to give you the opportunity to develop refine and demonstrate your teaching knowledge skills and abilities during your teacher preparation program The TPA is imbedded in your coursework and is designed to be both formative and summative in its usage It is also linked to the California state adopted academic content standards for students the California Standards for the Teaching Profession and the California Frameworks The TPA is part of a three year preparation cycle of growth and development for teachers All teacher candidates must take and pass the TPA in order to be recommended for a Preliminary Teaching Credential After receiving the Preliminary Credential and upon employment within a California classroom you will participate in an approved induction program leading to a Professional Credential The results of the TPA will inform your Individual Induction Plan IIP Completing the TPA will also help you to begin using the California Formative Assessment and Support System CFASST or another assessment system during induction CalTPA Teacher Candidate Information is found on this site Graduate Program in Education About Our Programs Requirements Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment Education Facebook Department News Monday January 11

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/graduate_education/assessment (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Graduate Programs Information Request | Whittier College
    Awards Benefits Services Connect Whittier Weekend Information For Students Alumni Parents Families Friends Neighbors Faculty Staff Information for Students Alumni Parents Families Friends Neighbors Faculty Staff Apply Visit Search form Search Calendar Directory Campus Life Admission About Academics News Events Athletics Giving Alumni Education Homepage Slider graduate ACADEMICS IN ACTION Closing the Achievement Gaps between English Language Learners and Their Peers Prev Next In This Section Graduate Program in Education Mobile About Our Programs Requirements Credentialing Programs Masters in Education Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment You are here Home Academics Graduate Programs Information Request Graduate Programs Information Request On 9 May 2013 By admin 0 Comments Graduate Program in Education About Our Programs Requirements Preview of Courses Broadoaks School Faculty Research Fieldwork Applying Teacher Performance Assessment Education Facebook Department News Monday January 11 2016 Faculty Members Lead Travel Courses During JanTerm The study abroad experience has long been a hallmark of the liberal arts curriculum and a rite of passage for many American undergraduates In More Tuesday December 8 2015 Making An Impact in the Community For More Than a Decade For more than 12 years Whittier College students have had the opportunity

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/graduate_education/informationrequest (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Alumni Spotlight | Whittier College
    resources and funding allocation in the two regions and implications these factors have on American Indian health outcomes What first attracted you to Whittier College Since I wanted to continue swimming in college I researched and visited NCAA Division III schools with strong swim programs in Southern California Whittier was one of those schools I was invited to attend the Whittier High School Honors Weekend and was excited to learn about WSP s strong commitment to collaborative learning and self designed majors The full tuition scholarship I received that weekend ultimately allowed me to attend Whittier College As a New Mexican I was also attracted to the southern California lifestyle and weather Why was the Whittier Scholars Program the right track for you Going into my freshman year I knew I wanted to become a physician Increasingly medical schools are seeking students with a well rounded or non traditional major outside of the physical and biological sciences I thought the WSP would give me the opportunity to design my own educational plan for completing pre medical course requirements while exploring my other interests in the humanities social sciences and self designed research projects Describe your experience at Whittier College Who was your favorite professor Whittier College truly was the best place for me to grow academically athletically socially and personally I developed lasting friendships with classmates and teammates through taking four years of rigorous pre med classes and competing on the swim team I was able to pursue research projects with faculty in both the biological and social sciences and participated in many clubs including Student for Community Medicine and the Biology Club My favorite professor was Dr Julie Collins Dogrul in Sociology Her course Sociology of Health and Medicine was an invaluable component of my Whittier Scholars Program that served as the impetus for developing my senior project Additionally Dr Collins Dogrul took me on as a research assistant for her U S Mexico border health organizations research she served as the mentor for my independently designed Fletcher Jones fellowship research project she was my Whittier Scholars Program sponsor and helped me attend the Western Social Sciences Conference as a student presenter She helped me develop skills and approaches to both learning and life that have served me well in the first semester of medical school Describe your study abroad experience I had a month long summer study abroad experience in Copenhagen Denmark during the summer after my junior year I got to spend time sightseeing in both Denmark and Sweden as I took the course Public Health in Northern Europe Through the class we examined models of healthcare systems and methods being used to pool funds allocate resources determine coverage provide services and identify health care priorities This fostered comparison of access and quality of care in Scandinavia and the U S as well as discussion of the pros and cons of universalistic social insurance and free market health systems The range of solutions we examined showed me

    Original URL path: http://www.whittier.edu/academics/whittierscholars/after/marshall (2016-01-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •